Astrophotography

Tips and tricks, and maybe even a few samples.
EFleming

Astrophotography

Post by EFleming » June 19th, 2016, 12:33 pm

I am interested in deep space astrophotography. I own a Canon 6D with a variety of lenses and an iOptron sky tracker, but am thinking about buying a Celestron Nexstar Evolution 8 HD with Starsense. Are the skies in BR too bright for astrophotography? I've seen dslr's made especially for astrophotography, but would my 6D with a red intensifier filter work just as well as those cameras? Any suggestions you can offer would be appreciated. Is the telescope mentioned above a good buy?
Thanks!

Christopher K.

Re: Astrophotography

Post by Christopher K. » June 21st, 2016, 3:17 pm

I have no experience in deep space astrophotography but a number of BRAS members do. I know there are filters that lessen the effect of light pollution, but I don't know if they are good only for optical viewing.

The BRAS members you should consult concerning astrophotography are...
*Briar Richard, who is actually a professional photographer these days:
http://www.briarrichardphoto.com/
*Chris Desselles, who has given several astrophotography talks throughout town.
*Any currently-active BRAS members who post at the club's photo page...
http://www.brastro.org/photos.html

Concerning the naturalness of the sky and the light pollution in the Baton Rouge area, I have been taken measurements from several different locations near HRPO. The device I use is a Unihedron SQM owned by BRAS. The section Light Pollution & Control has threads marked "GLOBE at Night" in which I list the SQMs of various spots in and around town. The measurements are a numerical value and their meaning is explained at this map of our area maintained by Attilla Danko...
http://www.cleardarksky.com/lp/HghLndRdObLAlp.html
Refer to the column that runs from "22.0" to ">17.80".

EFleming

Post by EFleming » June 21st, 2016, 4:08 pm

Thank you for the information!

btoman