Baton Rouge Area Telescope Viewing, 2020

Talk or ask questions about the hardware used in astronomy.
Post Reply
Christopher K.
Posts: 5468
Joined: October 12th, 2009, 3:28 pm
Location: Baton Rouge, LA

Baton Rouge Area Telescope Viewing, 2020

Post by Christopher K. »

Below are the remaining January dates during which public viewing with a telescope will be attempted…
*Fri 10 Jan, 8:30pm to 10pm [HRPO, 13800 Highland Road, 768-9948]
*Sat 11 Jan, 7pm to 10pm [HRPO]
*Fri 17 Jan, 8:30pm to 10pm [HRPO]
*Sat 18 Jan, 12pm to 2pm [HRPO]
*Sat 18 Jan, 7:30pm to 10pm [HRPO]
*Fri 24 Jan, 8:30pm to 10pm [HRPO]
*Sat 25 Jan, 7:30pm to 10pm [HRPO]
*Fri 31 Jan, 8:30pm to 10pm [HRPO]

Christopher K.
Posts: 5468
Joined: October 12th, 2009, 3:28 pm
Location: Baton Rouge, LA

Re: Baton Rouge Area Telescope Viewing, 2020

Post by Christopher K. »

Below are the February dates during which public viewing with a telescope will be attempted…
*Sat 1 Feb, 7pm to 8pm [Landolt Astronomical Observatory, Nicholson Hall Fourth Floor, 578-2261]
*Sat 1 Feb, 7:30pm to 10pm [HRPO, 13800 Highland Road, 768-9948]
*Tue 4 Feb, 6:30pm to 8:30pm [Perkins Rowe Town Square, 767-2001]
*Fri 7 Feb, 8:30pm to 11pm [HRPO]
*Sat 8 Feb, 7pm to 10pm [HRPO]
*Mon 10 Feb, 5:30pm to 7pm [Burbank Soccer Complex, 12400 Burbank Drive, no phone]
*Fri 14 Feb, 8:30pm to 10pm [HRPO]
*Sat 15 Feb, 12pm to 2pm [HRPO]
*Sat 15 Feb, 7:30pm to 10pm [HRPO]
*Tue 18 Feb, 4:15am to 6:15am [HRPO]
*Fri 21 Feb, 8:30pm to 10pm [HRPO]
*Sat 22 Feb, 7:30pm to 10pm [HRPO]
*Fri 28 Feb, 8:30pm to 10pm [HRPO]

HRPO: http://hrpo.lsu.edu/calendar/calendar.html
Perkins Rowe Town Square: http://perkinsrowe.com/directory/
Burbank Soccer Complex: http://www.brec.org/index.cfm/park/BurbankSoccerComplex
Landolt Astronomical Observatory: https://www.lsu.edu/physics/about/observatory.php

Christopher K.
Posts: 5468
Joined: October 12th, 2009, 3:28 pm
Location: Baton Rouge, LA

Re: Baton Rouge Area Telescope Viewing, 2020

Post by Christopher K. »

The Perkins Rowe viewing has been cancelled by Ben due to inclement weather. The next viewing there will be on 3 March.

Christopher K.
Posts: 5468
Joined: October 12th, 2009, 3:28 pm
Location: Baton Rouge, LA

Re: Baton Rouge Area Telescope Viewing, 2020

Post by Christopher K. »

Below are the March dates during which public viewing with a telescope will be attempted…
*Fri 6 Mar, 5:30pm to 7:30pm [HRPO, 13800 Highland Road, 768-9948]
*Sat 7 Mar, 9am to 4pm [Bluebonnet Swamp Nature Center, 10503 North Oak Hills Parkway, 757-8905]
*Sat 7 Mar, 7pm to 10pm [HRPO]
*Fri 13 Mar, 8:30pm to 10pm [HRPO]
*Sat 14 Mar, 7:30pm to 10pm [HRPO]
*Fri 20 Mar, 8:30pm to 10pm [HRPO]
*Sat 21 Mar, 12pm to 2pm [HRPO]
*Sat 21 Mar, 7:30pm to 10pm [HRPO]
*Tue 24 Mar, 8pm to 10:30pm [Burbank Soccer Complex, 12400 Burbank Drive, no phone]
*Fri 27 Mar, 8:30pm to 10pm [HRPO]
*Sat 28 Mar, 7:30pm to 10pm [HRPO]
*Tue 31 Mar, 6:30pm to 8:30pm [Perkins Rowe Town Square, 767-2001]

The Bluebonnet Swamp Nature Center event has an admission fee; the others do not.

Bluebonnet Swamp Nature Center: http://www.brec.org/index.cfm/park/detail/19

Post Reply