Page 1 of 1

Darwin-Wallace Medal

Posted: June 1st, 2011, 12:48 pm
by Christopher K.
The Linnean Society was formed in the 1780s and named after naturalist Carl Linnaeus. The Society's Darwin-Wallace Medal was originally given only on the anniversaries of a notable paper co-authored by Charles Darwin and Alfred Russel Wallace and published by the Society. As of 2010 it is awarded annually.

This year's recipient (I don't know if he's the only one) is James Lake from UCLA. Lake is also a collaborator at ARC's Astrobiology Institute and serves as a co-chair of a focus group on evogenomics. His lab at UCLA is focused on discovering the origins of eukaryotes and prokaryotes.

Biology isn't my field, although looking at the past recipient list I recognize Stephen Jay Gould and (I think) Julian Huxley.

More information at: ... -36AR.html

About genomics:

James Lake bio: ... ltyKey=710

Re: Darwin-Wallace Medal

Posted: May 31st, 2014, 5:03 pm
by Christopher K.
The 2012 recipient of the Darwin-Wallace Medal was Loren Henry Rieseberg (sunflowers), the 2013 Medal to Godfrey Hewitt and this year's Medal to Dolph Schluter. Probably not too much more for me to post as this is an evolutionary biology award.

About Rieseberg: